The Georgia Educational Technology Consortium grew out of the success of the Georgia Educational Technology Conference, which debuted in 1989 at the Ironworks Trade Center in Columbus. In 2000, Dr. Mark Check was elected the first President of the newly formed Georgia Educational Technology Consortium. Dr. Wayne Robinson became president of the 15-member Board of Directors in 2002. Dr. Brian Blanton assumed the presidency in 2016.
    The non-profit organization has contracted with McRae Conferences & Trade Shows, Inc., of Tallahassee to coordinate some activities for the Consortium and the Conference. The Directors are all unpaid volunteers who supervise the Consortium's projects. 
    In addition to the annual GaETC Conference, the Consortium now supports two other projects: the Georgia Educational Technology Fair, which is an annual state-wide competition for students, and Innovation Grants, a program that presents monetary awards to Georgia teachers who use technology in innovative ways to advance education.